The Missouri Review :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

The Missouri Review cover

The Missouri Review

About The Missouri Review: One of the premier publishers of the best new stories, essays, and poems from Pulitzer Prize winners to unpublished emerging writers.

Contact Information:

357 McReynolds Hall

University of Missouri

Columbia, MO  65211

Phone: (573) 882-4474



Submission/Subscription Information:

Simultaneous submissions: yes Email submissions: yes Reading period: year-round Response time: 12 weeks Payment: $40/page + two copies Contests: yes (see website) ISSN: 0191-1961 Founded: 1978 Issues per year: 4 Distributors: Ingram Periodicals Copy price: $8.95 Average pages: 192 Sample price (postpaid): $8.95 Subscription (Ind/Inst) 1 year: $24

Publisher’s description: Since 1978, The Missouri Review has helped shape the contemporary literary scene by offering the finest work of today’s most important writers and by discovering the brightest new voices in fiction, poetry, and the essay. Audio recordings of every issue, read by either the writer or a professional theater performer, are available through our website.

Recent work in the The Missouri Review has been anthologized over 100 times in Best American Short Stories, Best American Essays, Best American Travel Writing, Best American Poetry, Prize Stories: The O’Henry Awards, New Stories From The South, and The Pushcart Prize. Writers whose work first appeared in The Missouri Review have won awards such as the National Book Award, the Yale Younger Poets Award, MacArthur Foundation “Genius” awards, and the Pulitzer Prize.

Recent contributors include Richard Bausch, Kerry Hardie, Tom Ireland, Ellen Bass, Benjamin Percy, Steve Almond, Elise Juska, Eleanor Lerman, and Cheryl Strayed.

Recent issues:

The latest from TMR (Summer 2014) is hotter than a Midwestern heat wave, and tasty as Kansas City barbecue! This issue features new fiction by Carol Ghiglieri, Ben Hoffman, Amanda Harris, and Sharon Pomerantz; nonfiction by Marin Sardy and John Hales; and poetry by Diane Seuss, Andrew Grace, and Valerie Nieman. There is also an omnibus review of contemporary Indian literature by Nina Martyris, a visual feature on Richard Hamilton’s Ulysses drawings, and an art feature on the actresses of the silent film era. Get your issue today!

The Spring 2014 issue features the winners of the 2014 Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize and work by Kai Carlson-Wee, Kerry Hardie, Jill Kandel, David Lee, Monica McFawn, Brian Van Reet, Melissa Yancy, Dave Zoby, and an interview with Chang-Rae Lee.

The Winter 2013 issue features work by Jennifer Atkinson, Michelle Boisseau, Jonathan Fink, Seth Fried, John Fulton, Jane Gillette, Andrew Mulvania, Nick Neely, Sarah T. Schwab, Kristine Somerville, Daniel Talbott, Alexander Teague and Hal Walling.


last updated 08/25/2014