The Meadow :: NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines

The Meadow cover

The Meadow

About The Meadow: The Meadow is the annual print and online literary journal of Truckee Meadows Community College in Reno, Nevada.

Contact Information:

Truckee Meadows Community College

7000 Dandini Boulevard VSTA B300

Reno, NV  89512-3999

Phone: (775) 673-7092



Submission/Subscription Information:

Simultaneous submissions: yes Postal submissions: no Email submissions: yes Reading period: 9/1-2/1 Response time: 2-4 months Payment: copies Contests: no ISSN: 0886-8654 Founded: 2000 Issues per year: 1 Copy price: Free Average pages: 132-136 Sample price (postpaid): Free full PDF online Subscription 1 year: no annual subscription fee

Publisher’s description: The Meadow, the literary journal of Truckee Meadows Community College, is an annual print and online journal. We are one of the few journals in the country who publish our best student work alongside national writers such as Campbell McGrath, Kim Barnes, Jillian Lauren, Khaled Hosseini, and Ellen Hopkins among others.

We seek to publish the best work submitted whether it is student work, a national writer or an undiscovered writer who has never published before, and to achieve that aim all work is considered without names and judged solely on its own merit. Though we are located in the west, we are not exclusively a western magazine. Our editorial focus is open and hopes to be surprised.

Recent issues:

The 2014 issue features nterview by Angela Spires with Claire Vaye Watkins. Non-fiction by Chelsey Clammer. Comics by Janne Karlsson. Fiction by Jordan Hartt , K.D. Alter, & Tim Applegate. Poetry by Jeff Hardin, Joan Presley, June Saraceno, Nathan Graziano, Vincent Moran, Nahom Hagos, Sean Prentiss, Simon Perchik, Jesse DeLong, Jeffrey Alfier, among others.

The 2013 issue features fiction by Shelby Cook, Charles Rafferty, Lauren Eyler, and Justin Crawford; nonfiction by Gerry LaFemina, Debra Fox, Melissa Laws, and Robert Lively; and poetry by Joseph Fasano, Simon Perchik, Steve Shilling, J. Patrick Lewis, Mitch Grabois, Daniel Aristi, Stephen Christopher Schlatter, Diane Hinkley, Brandon PeQueen, Logan Seidl, Emily Jewel, Andrea Buchanan, Adam Tavel, Alyse K. Bensel, Evan Adkins, Colin Dodds, Anthony Frame, Jane Rosenberg LaForge, Tim Applegate, Joe Benevento, Angelo Perez, and many more.

The 2012 issue features fiction by Catherine Austin Alexander, Rebecca Andem, Cristina Crocker Escribano, Scott Tucker, and Brady Harrison; nonfiction by Nancy O’Connell; poetry by Cameron Aveson, Paul Hostovsky, Maya Jewell Zeller, Kaitlyn Carr, B.T. Joy, Lindsey Neely, Victoria Kellie, Bryn Homuth, Tanisha Shannon, and more; art byf Suzanne Roberts, Dana Oldfather, and Ivy Antonowitsch.


last updated 6/23/2014